Episode Look At: My Next Life as a Villainess: All routes lead to doom! Episode 9.

Written

"Things Got Crazy at a Slumber party..." is this episode filler? Yes. I like the episode in the sense that it explores Catarina's maid...Who actually gets a name. Anne Shelley... Not going to remember that as she has not been a particularly important character. This episode explains her (pretty dark) back story and that she may be in love with Catarina... motherly love perhaps. I like Anne so I like the episode but it is still filler. Not helping the matter is the fact that the episode at the start was a recap. Thankfully not the full episode but shit starts hitting the fan pretty quickly.

At the beginning, Anne pretty much explains every character's motive. As one of the entertaining things about this show was figuring out character motivations I'm rolling my eyes. Furthermore the writing just is not there. I have a really hard time thinking that anyone after asking a person in their face how they want to get romantically involved says I'm happier when I'm with you ... is in love to them.

Sophia. Sophia. What is your character? Anne explains that she wants her brother to marry Catarina so she can have threesome? That is what I am getting from the show. Maybe there is a specific japanese word used that doesn't translate well? No. Later, when girls talk about having a pajama party, discussion goes to boys should have their own pajama party. Sophia's response is to think "Just the boys... talking all night?" and deep blush. Is Sophia really a pervert book lover? What is her character? How does her being a reincarnation of Catarina's previous life's friend have to do with anything? Also, this scene nor boy's pajama party is not followed up on.

Teaser at the end revealed that next the episode will be about the bullies. FINALLY!