Ramblings on what should I do with this website.

Written

If you have looked into my to-do list you may have noticed there is a problem with dynamic loading where the back and forward buttons on the browser don't work. A simple fix would be to use History API but this really got me thinking about what should I really do to improve the website.

A simple change that I should probably have done sooner was to change the website lohikaarme to jackerty. Jackerty doesn't have an undertone of being otherkin. Also, it is much more unique.

Another thing that has started to bug me is the side and top bar. Looking at a site like ikewise, Spaced they do have empty space and text is in the boxes. I haven't decided what should I do with the top bar (since it does serve the function of following along) I will probably move the sidebar more to the centre and make it a fully transparent box. Also, the Neocities logo at the bottom should probably be better looking as well.

I probably shouldn't have uploaded four fonts to the backend. First of all, they should have been backups so that I am not reliant on Google. Also now months (perhaps a year) later I'm thinking that maybe I should commit to a pixel art aesthetic. So I probably should just use Press Start 2P font.

And the last thing... Should I make this site fully static? The reason I don't really want to do that is that I like to do subject matter filtering under the blog tag at some point and I would like to keep the front page be the newest blog posts. It isn't that loading blogs is too slow (I do worry about it though) it is that I would also like that blog post to be their own stand-alone page. Also if I look at serebii.net or anything from blogger.comserver end adds the blog's posts to the page before sending it to the browser. That is a better way of doing it unlike me who has to do a linked list of pages that incrementally loads themself until the load isn't called. Also constantly adding more strings to strings probably does cause reallocs which isn't speeding things up.

Maybe I should try to do something that adds context. Here are the archives of the old design. Archive 1 Archive 2